Go Behind-The-Scenes On Frightened Rabbit’s ‘Pedestrian Verse’

"It's the best album we've made."
View Comments
Courtesy Warner Bros.

Courtesy Warner Bros.

On Tuesday February 5, Scottish indie rockers Frightened Rabbit released their fourth studio album and major label debut, Pedestrian Verse through Atlantic Records. Along with the single “Woodpile” the FR boys released a trio of online behind-the-scenes “making of album” videos.

In the videos, frontman Scott Hutchison talks about the different approach the band took while writing and recording over the last year and a half. Taking a more collaborative route while writing on the road changed the way the tracks evolved before hitting the studio.

“I think we’ve noticed over time that old songs have sort of taken a metamorphosis whilst we’ve been on tour. Simply through – I guess – boredom and wanting to keep things interesting for us.” Hutchison explained, “So we tried to apply that to the new songs in order to hopefully make them – by the time we got to the studio – they would sound like they’d been worn in. They weren’t to – sort of – edgy or fresh. We’d settled into the songs.”

“It’s the best album we’ve made,” professes Hutchison. “I know you should say that about every album but I genuinely believe this one.”

Part 1:

 

Part 2:

 

Part 3:

 

The band comes state-side in March and April for a coast-to-coast headlining tour.

2013 North American Tour:

Fri, Mar 8 || Seattle, WA || Showbox at the Market
Sat, Mar 9 || Portland, OR || Hawthorne Theater
Mon, Mar 11 || San Francisco, CA || The Fillmore
Tues, Mar 12 || Solana Beach, CA || Belly Up Tavern
Wed, Mar 13 || Los Angeles, CA || The Music Box
Mon, Mar 18 || Englewood, CO || Gothic Theatre
Tues, Mar 19 || Lincoln, NE || Bourbon Theatre
Thurs, Mar 21 || Minneapolis, MN || Varsity Theatre
Fri, Mar 22 || Milwaukee, WI || Pabst Theatre
Sat, Mar 23 || Chicago, IL || Riviera Theatre
Sun, Mar 24 || Nashville, TN || 3rd & Lindsay
Tues, Mar 26 || Cincinnati, OH || Bogarts
Wed, Mar 27 || Louisville, KY || Headliners Music Hall
Fri, Mar 29 || Millvale, PA || Mr Smalls
Sat, Mar 30 || Detroit, MI || St. Andrews Hall
Sun, Mar 31 || Toronto, ON || Phoenix Concert Theatre
Tues, Apr 2 || Boston, MA || House of Blues
Wed, Apr 3 || Providence, RI || Fete
Thurs, Apr 4 || New York, NY || Terminal 5
Sat, Apr 6 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer
Sun, Apr 7 || Washington D.C. || 9:30 Club
Mon, Apr 8 || Carrboro, NC || Cat’s Cradle
Wed, Apr 10 || Atlanta, GA || Masquerade
Thurs, Apr 11 || Birmingham, AL || WorkPlay Theatre
Fri, Apr 12 || Little Rock, AR || The Rev Room
Sat, Apr 13 || Dallas, TX || Trees

– Bradford Hornsby, LIVE 105/San Francisco

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,148 other followers